According to our informations the following is a list of the main administrative entities to be transferred en bloc to the EEAS.
This does not prejudge the additional needs and the allocation of resources to be determined in the budget negotiations establishing the EEAS, nor decisions on the provision of adequate staff responsible for support functions, and the linked need for service-level agreements between the General Secretariat of the Council and the Commission and the EEAS.


All staff in the departments and functions listed below shall be transferred en bloc to the EEAS, except for a very limited number of staff to perform the normal tasks of the General Secretariat of the Council in line with Article 2(1), second indent, and for certain specific functions which are indicated below:

Policy Unit

ESDP and crisis management structures

  • Crisis Management and Planning Directorate (CMPD)
  • Civilian Planning and Conduct Capability (CPCC)
  • European Union Military Staff (EUMS)
  • Departments under the direct authority of DGEUMS
  • Concepts and Capability Directorate
  • Intelligence Directorate
  • Operations Directorate
  • Logistics Directorate
  • Communications and Information Systems Directorate
  • EU Situation Centre (SITCEN)


  • Staff in the SITCEN supporting the Security Accreditation Authority

Directorate-General E

  • Entities placed under the direct authority of the Director-General
  • Directorate for the Americas and the United Nations
  • Directorate for the Western Balkans, Eastern Europe and Central Asia
  • Directorate for Non-Proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destruction
  • Directorate for Parliamentary affairs in the area of CFSP
  • New York Liaison Office
  • Geneva Liaison Office
  • GSC officials on secondment to European Union Special Representatives and CSDP missions.


Directorate-General for External Relations

  • All hierarchy posts
  • Directorate A (Crisis Platform and policy coordination in CFSP)
  • Directorate B (Multilateral Relations and Human Rights)
  • Directorate C (North America, East Asia, Australia, New Zealand, EEA, EFTA, San Marino, Andorra, Monaco)
  • Directorate D (European Neighbourhood Policy Coordination)
  • Directorate E (Eastern Europe, Southern Caucasus, Central Asia Republics)
  • Directorate F (Middle East, South Mediterranean)
  • Directorate G (Latin America)
  • Directorate H (Asia (except Japan and Korea))
  • Directorate I (Headquarters resources, information, inter-institutional relations)
  • Directorate K (External Service)
  • Directorate L (Strategy, Coordination and Analysis)
  • Task Force on the Eastern Partnership
  • Unit Relex-01 (audit)


  • Staff responsible for the management of financial instruments
  • Staff responsible for the payment of salaries and allowances to staff in delegations

External Service

  • All Heads of Delegation and Deputy Heads of Delegation
  • All Political Sections and staff
  • All information and public diplomacy sections and staff
  • All Administration sections


  • Staff responsible for the implementation of financial instruments

Directorate-General for Development

  • Directorate D (ACP II – West and Central Africa, Caribbean and OCT) except OCT task force
  • Directorate E (Horn of Africa, East and Southern Africa, Indian Ocean and Pacific)
  • Unit CI (ACP I: Aid programming and management): Staff responsible for programming
  • Unit C2 (Pan-African issues and institutions, governance and migration): Staff responsible for Pan-African relations
  • Applicable hierarchy posts